Burnt

They say the definition of insanity is doing the same thing repeatedly and expecting a new outcome.

It feels like that’s recruitment right about now.  Here I am on the hamster wheel, running my ass off, and then something goes to hell and I’m ass over tea kettle.

It’s to be expected that recruitment is more of a bitch now just because most people are in the mindset of “omg I must kill LK HM25 RIGHT THIS MINUTE otherwise I won’t have ‘finished’ Wrath before Cata is released”.  Of course this leads to people who’ve barely completed Lower Spire who are setting their minimum requirements for a new guild at 10 or 11/12 HM25.  It’s amusing and frustrating all at the same time.  Amusing because it’s unrealistic.  Frustrating because the top guilds are having to deal with the same attrition as everyone else so they’re more willing to take on projects.

But none of that makes it easier for me to recruit for our “measly” 9/12 HM25 guild.

We had an incident a couple of weeks ago that significantly contributed to my malaise.  Ever since I took on recruitment mid-Sunwell, I’ve been very serious and diligent because if the guild failed it would (in my mind) be because *I* failed at recruitment.  So I’ve always taken recruitment far too personally than I should.  I know that, can’t change it, but I’m at least aware of that character flaw.  🙂

Anyway, back to the story.  We had a a couple of people apply: tank, holy pally, and ranged dps.  The ranged dps just wanted to be guilded with their friends and fill in when needed, but not raid on a regular basis.  The other two wanted to raid.  Fine, no problem, we have no issues with friends being in guild so long as they don’t join as friends and then bitch about not raiding.  The tank and pally were both one HM farther progressed than us which was a bit of a concern since we’re not the top guild on our server and have no desire to be a feeder guild for them.  But aside from that minor issue, which would have been discussed during the interview, the both players were solid.

And then our holy pallies freaked out, one of them moreso than the other.  Because of it, we lost the opportunity of getting them in guild.  All because the one guildy who freaked out the most was concerned about not having a guaranteed raid spot and making sure that he had his 16 hours of fun raiding per week.

Now, anyone who has done recruitment is looking long-term.  You know who has a schedule that’s going to be iffy in the next few weeks or month and you know, especially at this point in time, that summer attrition and pre-expac lull are going to hit hard.  So you prepare and pick up more people.  Some guilds keep a deeper bench than others, but everyone prepares for summer the same way.

So instead of having a those players in guild and ready to step up into the positions that have recently opened (and having had them in the raid rotation these past weeks already), I’m still recruiting and trying desperately to make sure that we have enough players to continue to field raids so we don’t bleed other players and exacerbate the problem.

All because of one person’s short-sightedness and utter selfishness.

Due to some major RL things going on in my life that are taking up quite a bit of my time, I asked for people who were interested in taking over recruitment.  I simply don’t have the time available any more to be able to troll the WoW forums, hunt people down on their servers to talk with them, and follow-up with people in vent in a timely fashion.  My lack of availability directly affects the amount of new players we have transferring to join us.  Out of the 30 raiders in our guild, one person responded; they were willing to bump recruitment threads, but not one person was willing to take on the burden of recruitment.

I find it sad that I have raiders so concerned with getting their fun each week, but not one of them will actually put in some of the work to make sure that they can continue to get their raiding fix.

Unfortunately, the end result is that there is a very high likelihood that the guild will end up dying because of this.  I continue to do what I can, but I’m restricted by my available time.  It’s really sad to look down the road and see the end in sight.  As a guild, we’re 7 weeks shy of our 5 year anniversary; it will be interesting to see if we can pull our asses out of the fire long enough to make that milestone.

Leave a Reply

