Honesty

I think that most people who use the internet are familiar with John Gabriel’s Greater Internet Fuckwad Theory:

We’ve all seen or heard of “those people” in PuGs who are complete assholes just because there’s minimal to no accountability.

If being anonymous on the internet makes it easier to be an asshole, why then is it nigh impossible to be honest with your guild about why you’re leaving? It’s still the internet.  You’re still anonymous.  Sure, depending on how long you’ve been with the guild there are different levels of friendship, but at the end of the day we’re still just a collection of random people on the internet.  It’s not like you’re going to see those former guild members the next day at work/school or that weekend at the bar.

In the past year and a half that I’ve been doing recruitment, I can think of one person who left the guild and was honest about why they were leaving.  Then there are the others who left because “I have my reasons but I’m not looking to cause drama so I’ll keep them to myself” (server transferred to a slightly more progressed guild), “My girlfriend got pissed and deleted all my characters so I can’t make raids until Blizzard restores my account” (server transferred to a more progressed guild), or from a trial after a week “I don’t feel like I’m meshing with the guild” (server transferred to a guild that is FAR more progressed and working on the last few HMs in ICC25) .  Those are just the few I can think of who actually gave “reasons” compared to others who either transferred with no word or just stopped logging in on their character(s) all together.

That one person who was honest about why they were leaving?  She left to a guild that was progressing faster and more consistently than we were.  But the difference between her and the others I referenced above:  she didn’t try to give us a line of bullshit.  She was honest about the fact that she wanted more progression and a more intensive raiding schedule.  Awesome!  We’re not uber hardcore so of COURSE you need to find somewhere that suits you better.  I already considered her to be a high caliber player and fun person to be guilded with, but the way she handled her exit really upped my respect for her.  Every time we have someone new who leaves the guild I think of her and to be honest, I consider her and her actions as the bar by which I judge the person leaving and how well (or poorly) they handled their exit.

No guild can be all things to all people.  I don’t expect that once people join our guild that we will be their final home in WoW and that they will never ever leave.  But I don’t think it’s too much to expect a little honesty (as opposed to sugar-coating or outright lies) when you’re on your way out.

Leave a Reply

